نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي وزير الدفاع

الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم

تؤدي وزارة الدفاع انطلاقاً من دورها في إعداد السياسة العامة للدفاع عن الوطن، مهمةً استراتيجية ومحورية في منظومة الأمن الوطني في دولة الإمارات. وتعمل وزارة الدفاع على رسم السياسات وتطوير الاستراتيجيات وبناء الكفاءات الوطنية القادرة على ترسيخ منظومة قوتنا الدفاعية الذاتية. كما تؤدي الوزارة دوراً مهماً أيضاً في ترسيخ وحدتنا الوطنية وهويتنا الإماراتية الجامعة وبناء مجتمع أكثر تماسكاً وتلاحماً ومنعةً.

واليوم، وبكل فخر نموذجنا الإماراتي يشع تقدما في كل مؤشرات التنمية الشاملة.. وقواتنا المسلحة في أعلى درجات الجاهزية والكفاءة.. وأبناؤنا يشكلون قوامها من أعلى الرتب إلى أحدث خريج من كلية أو مدرسة عسكرية، ويديرون أكثر نظم الأسلحة والنظم الإلكترونية تطوراً وتقدماً وينفذون مهامهم في حماية وطننا وفي ساحات القتال بشجاعة واقتدار.

لقد كان بناء قوتنا الذاتية هاجس جيل التأسيس وشاغله الأكبر بقيادة الشيخ زايد "طيب الله ثراه"، فكان الاتحاد وكان توحيد القوات المسلحة وتطويرها وكانت التنمية الشاملة والمتوازنة. ومع انتقال الراية إلى جيل التمكين بقيادة أخي صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة حفظه الله، وجهود أخي صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان ولي عهد أبو ظبي نائب القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة، استقر تعزيز قوتنا الذاتية محوراً لرؤانا واستراتيجياتنا وخططنا ومشاريعنا ومبادراتنا. من هنا، كان استثمارنا الضخم في مواردنا البشرية واستيعابنا المبكر لمقتضيات ثورة المعلومات والاتصالات وتطويرنا للبنى التحتية وتلبيتنا لمتطلبات اقتصاد المعرفة وحرصنا على تطوير الأداء الحكومي وسعينا لتنويع اقتصادنا الوطني ودخولنا في ميادين الصناعات العسكرية والصناعات الدقيقة والطاقة النظيفة وعلوم الفضاء والذرة.

وبعد سنوات حافلة بالتحديات يتجلى نهوضنا نحن الإماراتيين بواجباتنا ومسؤولياتنا في نجاحنا في تعزيز التنمية والازدهار وتوطيد الأمن والاستقرار ومضينا قُدماً في تطوير مصادر قوتنا الذاتية. ويقيناً منا بأن أمننا الوطني لا ينفصل عن الأمن في إقليمنا وعالمنا.. من هنا نهضنا بمسؤولياتنا إقليمياً وعالمياً وتقديم العون للشقيق والصديق. ولتظل الإمارات بفضل الله وبفضل قيادتها الرشيدة واحة للأمن والأمان تمد أياديها البيضاء بالسلام ونشر قيم التسامح والاحترام للبشرية جمعاء.

وزير الدولة لشؤون الدفاع

محمد أحمد البواردي الفلاسي

كلمة معالي محمد بن أحمد البواردي الفلاسي وزير دولة لشؤون الدفاع للموقع الإلكتروني الخارجي لوزارة الدفاع

دأبت الشعوب على حماية نفسها ضد الأخطار التي تهددها، وقد أثبت التاريخ عبر الأزمان أن الأمم التي بقيت واستمرت إنما لكونها قد بنت عوامل القوة للدفاع عن نفسها. وهكذا تقوم رؤية وزارة الدفاع في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، على أنها "مؤسسة استباقية ذات مستوى يضمن الدفاع عن أمن وسيادة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وتحقيق النصر ضد التهديدات التي تواجه الدولة". ورسالتها هي "ضمان الدفاع عن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وحماية مصالحها، من خلال فهم البيئة الاستراتيجية وتصميم سياسات واستراتيجيات دفاع موجهة نحو المستقبل، بالإضافة إلى تحديد الأولويات الاستراتيجية لتطوير واستخدام القدرات الوطنية بالتعاون مع الجهات الوطنية الأخرى والحلفاء الدوليين".

وعلى هذا النحو، تحرص الوزارة، وكجزء من المنظومة الوطنية، على مواكبة الثورة الصناعية والرقمية الحديثة في العالم وفق رؤية القيادة الرشيدة، وتعمل على دعم مسيرة التطور الكبير الذي تشهده الدولة في مختلف المجالات، لتحقق الغاية التي تنشدها بأن تصبح من الدول الرائدة في مجالات الصناعات المتقدمة، وتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات، والذكاء الاصطناعي والتقنيات الحديثة. كما تسعى الوزارة إلى المشاركة في المنظومة الاتحادية، ودعم جهودها للارتقاء بالأداء الحكومي لبناء حكومة المستقبل لتحقيق رؤية الإمارات المئوية 2071، من خلال تأمين مستقبل أكثر سعادة وحياة أفضل للأجيال القادمة. ومن جانب آخر، تعمل على تعزيز قيم الانتماء والولاء والتلاحم الوطني، وترسيخ معاني الشرف والتضحية في سبيل صون الحق والدفاع عن الوطن لدى أبنائه.

إن بقاءنا يكمن في قوتنا ومدى تلاحم جهودنا، فالإمارات "أمانة في أعناقنا"، ووزارة الدفاع تحمل هذه الأمانة بعزيمة قوية، وترفع بيدٍ راية الدفاع عن الوطن بكل ثقة واقتدار، وترفع باليد الأخرى غصن السلام من أجل ضمان الأمن والاستقرار في المنطقة والعالم.

محمد بن أحمد البواردي الفلاسي
وزير دولـــة لشـــؤون الدفــــــاع

وكيل وزارة الدفاع

مطر سالم علي الظاهري

وسط تحولات "الرقمنة" المتسارعة، التي باتت تجتاح العقول والذهنيات، وتبدل مفاهيم وآليات الاقتصاد والصناعة والعلوم العسكرية والمدنية واستراتيجيات الدفاع وثوابتها، وتماشياً مع ما تشهده دولتنا من طفرة نوعية هائلة من أجل اعتلاء مراتب التنافسية الأولى عالمياً في مجالات التنمية المختلفة، ولاسيما في قطاع الاتصالات والمعلومات، تصبح البوابة الالكترونية حتمية تواصلية من أجل التعريف برسالة وزارة الدفاع ورؤيتها وأهدافها الاستراتيجية، التي تترجم وتعكس في جوهرها رسالة الامارات ومبادئها الإنسانية وقيمها الأخلاقية؛ في نهج أصيل غرسه القائد المؤسس المغفور له بإذن الله تعالى الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، طيب الله ثراه، ويحرص عليه سيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة ـ حفظه الله. ويتمسك به سيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، رعاه الله، وبإهتمام ومتابعة من سيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان ولي عهد أبوظبي نائب القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة.

وكما تضطلع قواتنا المسلحة بأدوار ميدانية بالغة الحيوية والتأثير في تحقيق الأمن والسلم الإقليمي والدولي، ومكافحة الإرهاب وصون الاستقرار، فإن البوابة الالكترونية لوزارة الدفاع تضطلع بدور حيوي على صعيد الاعلام والمعلومات، ونقل الخبر والمعلومة والصورة الصحيحة للجمهور في الداخل والخارج.

تعمل وزارة الدفاع في دولة الامارات العربية المتحدة ضمن إطار دفاعي وطني أشمل على الصعد كافة، ارتكازاً على استراتيجية وطنية متكاملة للدفاع تنطلق من فهم عصري متطور للتحديات والتهديدات الاستراتيجية، الانية والمحتملة، على حد سواء. ومن خلال فهم البيئة الاستراتيجية يتم تصميم سياسات واستراتيجيات دفاع موجهة نحو المستقبل، وتحديد الأولويات الاستراتيجية لتطوير واستخدام القدرات الوطنية بالتعاون مع المؤسسات الوطنية الأخرى. وتتمثل رؤية الوزارة في كونها مؤسسة استباقية ذات مستوى يضمن الدفاع عن أمن وسيادة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وتحقيق النصر ضد التهديدات المتغيرة التي تواجه الدولة.

كما تعمل وزارة الدفاع في ظل هياكل مؤسسية متطورة تمكنها من أداء مهامها بالتعاون والتكامل مع القيادة العامة للقوات المسلحة في الدفاع عن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وحماية مكتسباتها وضمان أمنها واستقرارها، إضافة إلى دور الوزارة الحيوي في رسم السياسات وإعداد استراتيجيات الدفاع وفهم البيئة الاستراتيجية إقليمياً ودولياً.

وفي سعينا لتحقيق رسالة الوزارة ورؤيتها وأهدافها، نحرص على تجسيد أعلى معايير الأداء المؤسسي بما يضمن الابتكار والجودة، ولتحقيق رؤية الوزارة الاستباقية في استشراف المستقبل اعتماداً على عقول أبناء الامارات وأفكارهم ومهاراتهم، واثقين من أن الحلم سيكتمل بإذن الله، في مئوية الامارات 2071، حينما تحلق دولتنا عالياً كأفضل دولة في العالم.

الدفاع عن الدولة والمحافظة على منجزاتها

المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان "طيب الله ثراه"

كان لزاماً على دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة أن تعمل على حماية ثروتها من الموارد الطبيعية القيمة منذ اللحظة الأولى لقيامها عام 1971، ويعود الفضل في حماية الدولة الوليدة من الأخطار المحدقة بها إلى رؤية المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان "طيب الله ثراه" الاستراتيجية وبراعته التي مكنته فيما بعد من إحباط مناورات أعدائه المحتملين.

عرف الشيخ زايد أن التحديات التي تواجه الدفاع عن أبوظبي، ثم عن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة فيما بعد، تحديات معقدة، وفي مواجهة هذه التحديات تبنى الشيخ زايد رؤية سياسية ذات ثلاث محاور؛ أولها أن الأمن القومي يعتمد على قيام دولة موحدة، فقد تعلم الشيخ زايد من خبرة التاريخ أن القلاع المنيعة التي سقطت نتيجة الاختراق من الداخل تفوق في عددها تلك التي تم الاستيلاء عليها باقتحامها بالقوة من الخارج، لذا كان جوهرياً على المستوى الداخلي أن يترسخ دعم أبناء الشعب للدولة الجديدة وأن يضمن الشيخ زايد التزام إخوانه الحكام بوحدة الكلمة.

أما المحور الثاني فهو سعي الشيخ زايد إلى أن يوضح بجلاء أن أي محاولة للاعتداء على دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومواردها ستكلف المعتدي خسائر فادحة. وتطلب ذلك أن يكون للدولة الوليدة قوات مسلحة وطنية ذات كفاءة عالية، ومزودة بأحدث الأسلحة والمعدات.

وكان المحور الثالث هو رغبة الشيخ زايد في أن يرسخ مكانة الدولة ويعزز مصداقيتها في الساحة الدولية بحيث تحتل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة المكانة التي تليق بها في المجتمع الدولي وأن تنظر إليها بقية دول العالم بوصفها قوة للخير وسنداً للعدالة والحق، ومن ثم تضمن الحماية والتأييد من خلال منظومتي القانون الدولي والأمم المتحدة.

المصدر: كتاب "بقـوة الاتحـاد: صاحب السمو الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان... القائد والدولة"، مركز الإمارات للدراسات والبحوث الاستراتيجية، 2005.

صاحب السمو

كلمة صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة

إن ما وصلت إليه قواتنا المسلحة من كفاءة وجاهزية عالية.. هو نتاج رؤية استراتيجية وطنية شاملة مكنت دولتنا ــ بعون الله ــ من بناء قوة رادعة.. عمادها شباب مدرب ومجهز بأحدث العتاد والأنظمة والتقنيات.

وإننا وإخواني أصحاب السمو أعضاء المجلس الأعلى حكام الإمارات.. ماضون في تطوير قدرات قواتنا المسلحة تسليحاً وتنظيماً وتدريباً وإدارة بما يمكنها من مواصلة أداء واجباتها الوطنية الدفاعية ومهامها الإنسانية العالمية مشاركة في حفظ الأمن والسلم الدوليين.

نحن فخورون بإنجازات قواتنا المسلحة ونجاحها في تنفيذ المهام التي أوكلت إليها .. حيث ساهمت في تعزيز الأمن والاستقرار لدولتنا ولشعبنا وللأشقاء في دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربي وفي مد يد العون لنصرة المظلوم وإغاثة المحتاج .. وستظل قواتنا المسلحة كعهدها دائماً رمزاً للوحدة الوطنية وسنداً للأشقاء وعوناً للأصدقاء وسيبقى الانتماء لها دائماً شرفاً وواجباً وحقاً لجميع المواطنين.

ولي عهد أبوظبي نائب القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة

كلمة صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان

أن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بقيادة صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة، حفظه الله، تؤمن إيماناً عميقاً بأن التعامل مع تحديات العصر ومجمل التحولات والمتغيرات التي تشهدها المنطقة يتطلب وجود مؤسسات أمنية وعسكرية متخصصة تعمل بكل انسجام وتكامل وقادرة على تقدير طبيعة التطورات والتهديدات بشكل علمي وتقديم رؤى وتقييمات استراتيجية من شأنها استباق مختلف المخاطر والتصدي لها .

إن وزارة الدفاع وغيرها من المؤسسات العسكرية والأمنية حظيت باهتمام المؤسس المغفور له، بإذن الله تعالى، الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، طيب الله ثراه، لإدراكه رحمه الله، الدور المهم الذي تقوم به هذه المؤسسات في حماية وحفظ أمن الوطن وصون مكتسباته، واستمر هذا النهج بالمتابعة والدعم المتواصلين من قبل صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة، حفظه الله، وأخيه صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، رعاه الله، الذي عزز من مسيرة وأدوار هذه المؤسسات في تحقيق مهامها وأعمالها وصولاً بأداء هذه المؤسسات العسكرية إلى أعلى المعايير العالمية إدارة وتنظيماً .

وندعوكم إلى بذل المزيد من الجهود في سبيل تأهيل العناصر البشرية المواطنة وإعداد وتطوير القيادات الوطنية باعتبارها الركيزة الأساسية لتحقيق التنمية الشاملة ولمواجهة التحديات والمتغيرات والمستجدات الإقليمية والدولية بكل كفاءة واقتدار.

٦ مارس، ٢٠١٨

البواردي يقوم بجولة تفقدية في معرض"آيسنآر ٢٠١٨"

الرؤية:

مؤسسـة‭ ‬استباقيـة‭ ‬ذات‭ ‬مستـوى‭ ‬يضمـن‭ ‬الدفـاع‭ ‬عن‭ ‬أمـن‭ ‬وسيـادة‭ ‬الإمـارات‭ ‬العربيــة‭ ‬المتحــدة‭ ‬وتحقيـق‭ ‬النصر‭ ‬ضد‭ ‬التهديدات‭ ‬التي‭ ‬تواجــه‭ ‬الدولــة‭.‬

الرسالة:

ضمان الدفاع عن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وحماية مصالحها من خلال فهم البيئة الاستراتيجية وتصميم سياسات واستراتيجيات دفاع موجهة نحو المستقبل،

اقرأ المزيد

المركز الإعلامي

اكتشف أحدث الأخبار، المنشورات، مقاطع الفيديو والمزيد

تم إنشاء المجلس الأعلى للدفاع وقد أصدر المجلس قرار رقم (1) بتوحيد القوات المسلحة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في مايو عام 1976م، ومنذ قرار التوحيد حققت وزارة الدفاع من خلال أعمالها المنوطة بها الكثير من النجاحات والخطوات السبّاقة في كثير من المحافل، وقد ارتأت الوزارة اليوم فتح آفاق جديدة لرؤيتها الاستراتيجية وسياستها العامة بصورة جديدة فعّالة تواكب من خلالها الطفرة العالمية التي يشهدها العالم أجمع

عرض الكل

الشيخ زايد

زايد الخير والعطاء في كل الأعوام

إن مآثر وبصمات القائد المؤسس المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان "رحمه الله" على مدى أعوام من العطاء والخير والإنسانية اللامحدودة لا يمكننا حصرها في كلمات فأعماله الخالدة وذكره الخالد في الوطن وقلب كل إماراتي لا يمكن تجسيدها في سطور.

ومبادرة "عام زايد" هي لفتة كريمة أطلقت للإنسان الذي جسد معاني الكرم والعطاء وتقديراً واحتفاءاً برجل جعل من وطنه نموذجاً فريداً للنجاح والطموح والعمل بإخلاص لتحقيق الأفضل وتعزيز مكانة دولة الإمارات الريادية عالمياً.


قم بزيارة الموقع الإلكتروني

قواتنا المسلحة

اكتشف قواتنا المسلحة

القوات البرية

في 5 مارس من عام 1989 تأسست قيادة القوات البرية، وتمركزت قيادتها في مدينة زايد العسكرية في أبوظبي، وتضم تشكيلات ألوية المشاة الآلية والمدرعات والمدفعية وهندسة الميدان والإشارة ووحدات الدعم الفني والإداري، وتعتبر القوات البرية من أقدم التشكيلات في القوات المسلحة، حيث أنشئت أول وحدة مشاة نظامية في الإمارات عام 1951.

القوات البحرية

في شهر إبريل عام 1967، أمر المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان (طيب الله ثراه) بإنشاء جناح البحر لقوة دفاع أبوظبي، وتمركزت قيادتها في الموقع الحالي للقوات البحرية في أبوظبي، وبدأ جناح البحر العمل بزوارق دورية صغيرة مهداة من الشيخ زايد بن سلطان رحمه الله تحمل أسماء (شجاع وعقاب وشاهين)، وبعدها انضمت زوارق دورية فئة 40 قدماً وزوارق دورية مسلحة فئة 56 قدماً، وتبعتها الزوارق المسلحة فئة 110 قدم.

القوات الجوية

تأسست القوات الجوية في 13 مايو 1968 بمسمى جناح الجو في قوة دفاع أبوظبي، وتمركزت قيادتها في مطار البطين في أبوظبي، وكانت تضم سرب الطائرات المقاتلة هوكر هنتر وسرب طائرات النقل كاريبو وآيلندر وطائرات الهيلوكوبتر بل 205. وفي يناير عام 1974، تم تشكيل قيادة الدفاع الجوي وسلحت بمدافع م / ط 20 ملم وبطارية صواريخ رابير.

Prime Minister and Minister of Defence

Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum

Based on its role in preparing the general policy of defending the homeland, Ministry of Defense is performing a strategic and pivotal task in the national security system in the UAE. Ministry of Defense is establishing policies, developing strategies and building national talents capable of consolidating our self-defense capabilities. The Ministry also plays an important role in consolidating our national unity and identity and building a more cohesive society.

Today, with pride, our UAE model is making progress in all the comprehensive development indicators. Our armed forces is at the highest degree of readiness and efficiency, where our sons, from high ranks to most recent graduates of a military school or college, from its backbone, manage the most sophisticated weapons and electronic systems, and carry out their tasks in protecting our country and battlefields with courage and professionalism.

Building of our own power was the obsession of the founding generation and its biggest concern, under the leadership of late Sheikh Zayed “may Allah bless his soul”, and as a result came the union, the unification and development of the armed forces, and the comprehensive and balanced development. With passing the flag to the empowerment generation under the leadership of my brother His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE, and the efforts of my brother His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, consolidation of our own strength has become the center of our vision, strategy, plans, projects and initiatives. Therefore, we have invested heavily in our human resources and we realized the requirement of information and communication revolution. We have also developed our infrastructure, and met the requirement of knowledge economy. We also were keen to develop government performance and sought to diversify the national economy in the fields of military industries, sensitive industries, clean energy, and space and nuclear science.

After very challenging years, we, the Emiratis, in our performance of our duties and responsibilities we were able to achieve success in promoting development and prosperity, consolidating security and stability, and moving forward in developing our own power resources. It is certain that our national security is inseparable from the security of our region and our world. Therefore, we carried out our responsibilities at the regional and the global level and help brothers and friends. The UAE, thanks to Allah and to its wise leadership, will remain an oasis of security and safety, extending its white hands to peace and spreading values ​​of tolerance and respect to all humanity.

Minister of State for Defense

Mohammed Ahmed Albawardi Al Flasi

The Speech of His Excellency Mohammed bin Ahmed Al Bawardi Al Falasi, Minister of State for Defense Affairs to the external MoD website

People have always protected themselves against the dangers that threaten them. History has shown over the time that nations who have survived and continued to exist are those who have built the factors of force to defend themselves. Thus, the vision of the Ministry of Defense in the United Arab Emirates is based on being "a proactive institution that ensures the UAE's national defence, sovereignty and victory against evolving threats to the nation”. The ministry’s mission is "to ensure the UAE’s national defense and advance its interests by understanding the strategic operating environment, designing future-oriented defense strategy and policy, and ensuring strategically prioritized development and utilization of national capabilities; all in collaboration with other national entities and our international allies."

In this context, as part of the national system, the Ministry is keen to keep abreast of the modern industrial and digital revolution in the world, in accordance with the vision of the good leadership. It works to support the great development process witnessed by the country in various fields in order to achieve its goal of becoming one of the pioneer countries in the fields of advanced industries, information and communication technology, artificial intelligence, and modern technologies. The ministry also seeks to participate in the federal system and support its efforts to improve the government performance in building the future government in order to achieve the centennial vision of the UAE 2071, by ensuring a happier future and a better life for future generations. On the other hand, the ministry is working on enhancing the values ​​of belonging, allegiance and national cohesion, and strengthening the meanings of honor and sacrifice in order to safeguard the right and defend the homeland of its citizens.

Our survival lies in our strength and the coherence of our efforts, because the United Arab Emirates is "entrusted in us". The Ministry of Defense carries this trust with strong determination, raising in one hand the banner of defending the homeland with confidence and power, and in the other hand the branch of peace to ensure security and stability in the region and the world.

Mohammed bin Ahmed Albawardi Falasi
Minister of State for Defense Affairs

Under Secretary of Defense

HE Mattar Salem Ali Al Dhaheri

Amid the rapid "digitization" shifts, which are sweeping minds and mindsets, and the transformation of concepts and mechanisms of economy, industry, as well as military and civilian sciences, and defense strategies and their constants, and in line with our country’s remarkable qualitative leap forward in order to achieve the first competitive ranks in the world in various fields of development, especially in the telecommunications sector, the electronic portal becomes a communicative imperative to define the message, vision and strategic goals of the Ministry of Defense. This in essence translates and reflects the message, humanitarian principles, and ethical values ​​of the UAE. We are doing so by following a genuine approach planted by his Highness late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, may Allah rest his soul, and that is getting special attention by His Highness Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE and high Commander of the Armed Forces, may Allah protect him. His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE, Ruler of Dubai, also adheres to the same approach that is also receiving the care and monitoring of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces.

As our armed forces play vital and very influential field roles in achieving regional and international security and peace, countering terrorism and maintaining stability, the Ministry of Defense's online portal plays a vital role in media and information ,as well as conveyance of news and information to the public at home and abroad.

The Ministry of Defense in the United Arab Emirates is working within a broader national defense framework, based on an integrated national strategy for defense starting from a modern and sophisticated understanding of both strategic and immediate challenges and threats. By understanding the strategic environment, future-oriented defense policies and strategies are developed, and strategic priorities for the development and use of national capacities are set in collaboration with other national institutions. The Ministry's vision is to be a proactive institution at a level that ensures defending the security and sovereignty of the United Arab Emirates and the victory against the changing threats facing the country.

The Ministry of Defense is also working in the framework of advanced institutional structures that enable it to perform its functions in cooperation and integration with the General Command of the Armed Forces in defending the UAE, protecting its gains and ensuring its security and stability. This is added to the vital role of the Ministry in formulating policies and developing defense strategies as well as understanding the strategic environment regionally and internationally. In order to achieve the message of the ministry, its vision and objectives, we are keen to reflect the highest standards of corporate performance to ensure innovation and quality, and to achieve the proactive vision of the ministry in looking to the future depending on the minds of the Emirati people and their ideas and skills. By doing this, we are confident that the dream will be completed by the one hundredth anniversary of our country in 2071 when our country will tower up high as the best country in the world.

Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan

The UAE has had to protect its wealth of valuable natural resources from the very first moment of its creation in 1971. The protection of the nascent nation from the dangers it faces is of the strategic vision and skill of the late Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan that enabled him to thwart the maneuvers of his potential enemies.

Sheikh Zayed knew that the challenges facing the defense of Abu Dhabi and then the UAE were complex. In the face of these challenges, Sheikh Zayed adopted a three-pronged political vision. First, national security depends on a unified state,where Sheikh Zayed learned From the experience of history that the fortified castles that fell as a result of penetration from the inside exceeds in the number those seized by force incursion from the outside. Therefore, it was intrinsically at the internal level to consolidate the support of the people to the new state and that Sheikh Zayed ensures the commitment of his brothers' rulers in the unity of the word.

The second axis is the pursuit of Sheikh Zayed to make it clear that any attempt to attack the United Arab Emirates and its resources will cost the aggressor heavy losses. This requires that the nascent State have national armed forces of high efficiency, equipped with the latest weapons and equipment.

The third axis was the desire of Sheikh Zayed to consolidate the status of the state and enhance its credibility in the international arena. So that the UAE occupies the position that deserves in the international community and to be considered by the rest of the world as a force for good and a guarantee of justice and right and thus ensure protection and support through International law and the United Nations system.

Source: "The Power of the Union: His Highness Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan ...The Leader and the State", Emirates Center for Strategic Studies and Research, 2005.

His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed, President of the UAE

The high competency and readiness of our armed forces is the product of a comprehensive national strategic vision that enabled our nation, with the help of Allah, to build a deterrent force with trained young men equipped with the latest munitions, systems and technologies.

I and my brothers and sisters, members of the Supreme Council, Rulers of the Emirates, continue to develop the capabilities of our armed forces in terms of weapons , training and equipment in order to enable them to carry out their national defense duties and their international humanitarian missions, which contribute to the maintenance of international peace and security.

We are proud of the achievements of our armed forces and their success in carrying out the tasks entrusted to them. They have contributed to enhancing the security and stability of our state, our people and our brothers in the Gulf Cooperation Council States and in helping the oppressed and supporting the needy. Our armed forces will always remain a symbol of national unity, supporting our brothers and friends. Loyalty of our armed forces will always be an honor, duty, and right to all citizens.

His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed

The UAE, under the leadership of His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE, May God protect him, strongly believes that dealing with the challenges of our time and the total changes and variables taking place in the region requires the existence of specialized security and military institutions that work in harmony and integrity. Institutions that are capable of assessing the nature of developments and threats, and provide strategic insights and assessments that anticipate and respond to various risks.

The Ministry of Defense and other military and security institutions have received the attention of the founder, late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, may God rest his soul, who realized the important role played by these institutions in protecting and preserving the security of the homeland and safeguarding its gains. This approach continued through the follow up and support from His Highness Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE, and His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai. In turn, Sheikh Mohammed strengthened the progress and roles of these institutions in carrying out their work and functions, so their performance would reach the highest international standards management and organization.

We call upon you to exert more efforts in qualifying the national human resources, and preparing and developing national leaderships as the cornerstone for achieving comprehensive development and meeting the challenges and changes and regional and international developments with efficiency and competence.

March 6, 2018

Al-Bawardi makes an inspection tour at "ISNR 2018"

Vision

A Proactive institution that ensures the UAE’s national defense‭, ‬sovereignty and victory against evolving threats to the nation‭.‬

Mission

To ensure the UAE’s national defense and advance its interests by understanding the strategic operating environment‭

Read More

Media Center

Discover our latest news, publications, videos and much more

Since the unification decision, the Ministry of Defense has achieved many successes and pioneer steps in many forums. The Ministry of Defense is looking forward to opening new horizons for its strategic vision and its public policy in an efficient way through which it can keep pace with the global boom witnessed by the whole world.

View All

Sheikh Zayed

Icon of Goodness and Generosity over the years

The achievements and imprints of the late Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, may God have mercy on his soul, in giving, goodness and unlimited humanitarianism over the years cannot be expressed I words. His immortal deeds and memory live in the heart of every Emirati and cannot be told in brief.

"The Year of Zayed " initiative is a kind gesture to the person who embodied the meanings of generosity, giving and appreciation to a man who made his country a unique model of success and ambition and hard work to achieve the best and strengthen the UAE's leading position globally.


Visit Website

Our Armed Forces

Discover Our Armed Forces

Land Forces

On March 5, 1989, the Land Forces Command was established and located in Zayed Military City in Abu Dhabi. It includes mechanized infantry brigades, armored vehicles, artillery, field engineering, signal and technical and administrative support units. The land force is considered one of the oldest formations in the armed forces.

Navy Forces

In April 1967, late Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, May God bless his soul, ordered the establishment of the sea wing of the Abu Dhabi Defense Force, with command position at the current location of the Abu Dhabi Navy . The sea wing began working with small patrol boats donated by Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan. The boats were called (Shuja, Agab and Shaheen). Later, 40-foot patrol boats and 56-foot patrol boats, followed by 110-foot armed boats joined the force.

Air Forces

The Air Force was established on May 13, 1968 as Air Wing of the Abu Dhabi Defense Force, with headquarters located at Al Bateen Airport in Abu Dhabi. The force included the Hawker Hunter Squadron, Caribou, Islander Cargo aircraft squadron, and Helicopter Bell 205. In January 1974, the Air Defense Command was formed and armed with Anti- aircraft gun 20 mm, and Rapier missile battery.